TIRZ: Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone Board

The Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone (TIRZ) Board of Directors shall make recommendations to the Council concerning the administration, management, and operation of the TIRZ. The board shall prepare and adopt a project plan and a reinvestment zone financing plan for the zone and submit such plans to the Council for its approval. The board shall perform all duties imposed upon it by Chapter 311 of the Texas Tax Code and all other applicable laws. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary herein, the board shall not be authorized to (i) issues bonds; (ii) impose taxes or fees; (iii) exercise the power of eminent domain, or (iv) give final approval to the zone’s project plan and financing plan.

  • Seven regular members
  • Each taxing unit other than the city that levies taxes on real property in the TIRZ may, but is not required to, appoint one member to the Board of Directors
  • After each taxing unit other than the city designates either the member that the taxing unit wishes to appoint or the fact that the taxing unit wishes to waive its right to appoint, Council shall appoint whatever number of members is necessary to fill the remaining positions
  • One Chair, appointed by the City Council
  • The Board may elect from its members a Vice-Chair and such other officers as the Board sees fit
NameTerm End
1Darold Tippey2023
2Mayor Jan Joplin2022
3Rockie Gilley, Chair2023
4Councilman Brad Horton2022
5Precinct 2 Commissioner Devan Allen
(Tarrant County Representative)
6Jill “J.R.” Labbe, Vice President, Communications & Community Affairs for JPS (Tarrant County Hospital District Representative)2022
7Dr. Eugene Giovannini, Chancellor of Tarrant County College; Proxy: Chief Operating Officer Susan Alanis
(Tarrant County College District Representative)