Requesting Deferred Disposition
You may wish to request for deferred disposition to keep the offense you have been charged with from appearing on your driving and/or criminal record. It will also keep points from being assessed to your driver's license as required by the Texas Surcharge Program.
Along with your plea of either guilty or nolo contendere, your request for deferred disposition may be submitted online or in writing (in person or via mail or fax). All requests for deferred disposition must include a copy of your valid driver's license.
Please allow the court three (3) business days to respond to an application for deferred disposition. If you have not heard from the court in that time, please call 817-985-2140.
The case is suspended for a period of time (anywhere from 1 to 180 days) set by the judge. Fees are assessed as a penalty to include a special expense fee as prescribed by the judge. The judge may require additional conditions, such as no additional charges filed within the city during the deferral period, alcohol and/or tobacco awareness, community service hours, submittal to counseling and/or anger management classes, or any other condition deemed reasonable by the judge. Anyone under the age of 25 must complete a driver’s safety course as a term of probation.
Upon satisfactory completion of the court's orders, the judge will dismiss your case.
RequirementsIn order to request deferred disposition, you will be required to do the following:
- Appear on or before your initial appearance date in person or in writing
- Enter a plea of guilty or no contest
- Meet any additional conditions or requirements of the judge
- Not currently be on probation in the City of Kennedale
- Pay the court costs, fine and a special expense fee
- Submit a request for deferred disposition (MUST include copy of valid driver's license)
either online; or in person or via mail or fax
- Waive the right to have a trial before the judge or jury
Offenses Not Qualifying For Deferred DispositionIn order to request deferred disposition, you must not have been charged with any of the following:
- Anyone who holds a CDL at the time of offense
- Any traffic offense committed in a construction zone
- Failure to Give Information at accident scene
- Fleeing or attempting to elude a peace officer
- Leaving the scene of accident
- Passing or overtaking a school bus
- Reckless driving
- Serious traffic violation as defined by the Transportation Code, which applies to drivers with a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)
- Speeding 25 mph over the limit or more
Note: As of September 1, 2003, you are not eligible for Deferred Disposition if you possess a Class A or B driver’s license, even if you are in a personal vehicle (refer to Article 45.051 (B) of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure).